I would rather be CEO

February 22, 2007

 

For 10 years, I have loved programming. I have learned and used Java, C, Scheme, C#, Python, Ruby, Boo and sometimes even PHP and Javascript. I have made a decent living out of it. Here’s the problem: I’m tired. I realized I can’t do it all myself, even if I make little minions out of code to do a lot of the work for me, even if I master the most powerful programming languages, the most powerful frameworks, the design patterns, the project management skills and read all the books.

I want to build something more than myself. I need other people for that. I need to trust other people for that. Therein, lies the journey. This blog will be about that journey.

I am currently about 12 months into running my own company. I went the easy way and have a sole proprietorship. I have a Nevada C-Corp coming into existence shortly. I’m still going to pay California taxes, but it just turned out to be easier to do it in Nevada. I have some things going for me. I have at least two reasonably steady clients. I am awash in offers for positions and one-time contracts. I have one pupil who is trying to learn the ropes, one who is coming back into the fold hopefully, and a part time ringer at my disposal.

What next? The plan is to work contracts and grow a small team so that I can transition slowly to becoming a product based company, instead of a contracing based company. This is a common plan. So far, it is not working for me. I don’t have time to work on my products because I am always chasing that next big job. I have worked everyday since Jan 6th. I will work everyday for at least another two weeks. I largely stopped bidding contracts on Guru.com (the major source of work for my little one man company) on January 1st, because I already had too much work. Even now I am behind on some projects that I must catch up on. I have six concurrent projects going, several of which are quite large. I even have one for equity stake in the resulting company with a decent business partner.

I am purposefully keeping this blog anonymous (as much as possible) so that I can talk about money. I don’t really want competitors, potential customers and just any random Joe being able to connect my money with me. This anonymity gives me the chance to really put it all out there. Thanks for understanding.

Leave a Reply

